Re: client_access maps for smtpd_recipient_restrictions

From: mouss (no email)
Date: Tue Jul 01 2008 - 11:56:09 EDT

  • Next message: oxy: "Re: fatal: no login name found for user ID"

    Romero, Randy wrote:
    > Sorry to be a bother, but trying to figure out why my "client_access" rules don't appear to be working. For the most part I am rejecting a lot of spam, but still some is coming through, but accurately being flagged by my mail program filters. Maybe it's short sighted, but I would like to be able to block all non US TLD's.

    This is a bit aggressive, but your server, your rules... There are safer
    ways to fight spam...
    > I have read various how_tos, but am curious as to why some emails are still slipping by if I'm blocking TLD's such as .cn or .it? I'm not even sure if what I am looking to do is possible. Much thanks in advance.
    >
    >
    > Randy Romero
    >
    >
    > Postfix version 2.4.6
    >
    > snippet of main.cf
    >
    > smtpd_recipient_restrictions =
    > permit_mynetworks,
    > permit_sasl_authenticated,
    > reject_unauth_destination,
    > reject_invalid_hostname,
    > reject_unauth_pipelining,
    > reject_non_fqdn_sender,
    > reject_unknown_sender_domain,
    > reject_non_fqdn_recipient,
    > reject_unknown_recipient_domain,
    > check_client_access dbm:/etc/opt/csw/postfix/maps/client_access,
    > check_helo_access dbm:/etc/opt/csw/postfix/maps/helo_access,
    > check_sender_access dbm:/etc/opt/csw/postfix/maps/sender_access,
    > check_recipient_access dbm:/etc/opt/csw/postfix/maps/recipient_access,
    > reject_rhsbl_client blackhole.securitysage.com,
    > reject_rhsbl_sender blackhole.securitysage.com,
    > reject_rbl_client blackholes.easynet.nl,
    > reject_rbl_client cbl.abuseat.org,
    > reject_rbl_client proxies.blackholes.wirehub.net,
    > reject_rbl_client bl.spamcop.net,
    > reject_rbl_client sbl.spamhaus.org,
    > reject_rbl_client opm.blitzed.org,
    > reject_rbl_client dnsbl.njabl.org,
    > reject_rbl_client list.dsbl.org,
    > reject_rbl_client multihop.dsbl.org,
    > permit
    >
    >

    1- Please show the output of 'postconf -n' instead of main.cf snippets

    2- please take the time to check that the DNSBLs you are queriying are
    still active.
        http://spamlinks.net/filter-dnsbl-dead.htm

    3- consider using zen.spamhaus.org. it is more effective and safer than
    your "blcok non us tld" strategy.

    > snippet of client_access file:
    > 83.33.170.157 reject
    > .am 554 No Soup For You
    > .an 554 No Soup For You
    > .ao 554 No Soup For You
    > .it 554 No Soup For You
    >
    >

    without 'postconf -n' output, we cannot tell if this is ever used.

    > snippet of header of email getting by:
    >

    please show the logs instead of messages.
    > Return-Path: <>
    > X-Original-To:
    > Delivered-To:
    > Received: from localhost (localhost [127.0.0.1])
    > by mail.mydomain.com (Postfix) with ESMTP id CA518AC27
    > for <>; Tue, 1 Jul 2008 07:47:38 -0400 (EDT)
    > X-Quarantine-ID: <EZ4UoIAQoU8J>
    > X-Virus-Scanned: amavisd-new at mydomain.com
    > X-Spam-Flag: YES
    > X-Spam-Score: 11.422
    > X-Spam-Level: ***********
    > X-Spam-Status: Yes, score=11.422 tagged_above=2 required=6.31
    > tests=[URIBL_AB_SURBL=1.613, URIBL_BLACK=1.961, URIBL_JP_SURBL=
    > 2.857,
    > URIBL_SBL=2.468, URIBL_SC_SURBL=2.523]
    > Received: from mail.4way.us ([127.0.0.1])
    > by localhost (mail.4way.us [127.0.0.1]) (amavisd-new, port 1002
    > 4)
    > with ESMTP id EZ4UoIAQoU8J for <>;
    > Tue, 1 Jul 2008 07:47:33 -0400 (EDT)
    > Received: from host210-100-static.49-88-b.business.telecomitalia.it (ho
    > st210-100-static.49-88-b.business.telecomitalia.it [88.49.100.210])
    > by mail.4way.us (Postfix) with ESMTP id AFD7EAC21
    > for <>; Tue, 1 Jul 2008 07:47:26 -0400 (EDT)
    > To:
    > Subject: ***SPAM*** Oil prices to soar
    > From: nihat <>
    > Content-Type: text/plain; format=flowed; delsp=yes; charset=koi8-r
    > MIME-Version: 1.0
    > Content-Transfer-Encoding: 7bit
    > Date: Tue, 1 Jul 2008 13:47:32 +0200
    > Message-ID: <lr dot jymagfrqwejoca at Giorgio>
    > User-Agent: Opera Mail/9.50 (Win32)
    >
    > Get bigger faster no problems with just these wonder pills
    > http://www.sizesuper.com/
    >
    >
    >
    > end
    >
    >
    > ________________________________
    > CONFIDENTIALITY NOTICE: This e-mail may contain information that is privileged, confidential or otherwise protected from disclosure. If you are not the intended recipient of this e-mail, please notify the sender immediately by return e-mail, purge it and do not disseminate or copy it.
    >
    >


  • Next message: oxy: "Re: fatal: no login name found for user ID"





    Hosted Email Solutions

    Invaluement Anti-Spam DNSBLs



    Powered By FreeBSD   Powered By FreeBSD