Re[4]: Blocking mail from=<>

From: Bobby (no email)
Date: Tue Mar 01 2005 - 15:51:33 EST

  • Next message: Robin Lynn Frank: "Re: Blocking mail from=<>"

    At 9:41:23 PM Tuesday, March 1, 2005 Noel wrote:

    NJ> At 01:22 PM 3/1/2005, Bobby wrote:
    >>Hello Noel,
    >>
    >>yep, sorry for that, it seems i missed some info.
    >>I fought this problem about two years ago, but I did not dig in to it
    >>then. It appears I am digging with wrong examples now :)
    >>
    >>rob0:
    >>
    >>Basically, I don't like using html in emails at all.
    >>Could you please be more specific about the broken MUA, because it
    >>seems fine to me and I think this would validate as HTML 4.01.
    >>
    >>About the DNS, please comment on this:
    >>
    >>;; QUESTION SECTION:
    >>;cyberinbox.com. IN MX
    >>
    >>;; ANSWER SECTION:
    >>cyberinbox.com. 3600 IN MX 0 dev.null.
    >>
    >>;; Query time: 171 msec
    >>;; SERVER: 67.18.235.194#53(ns1.adrress.com)
    >>;; WHEN: Tue Mar 1 21:20:25 2005
    >>;; MSG SIZE rcvd: 56

    NJ> This mail list prefers messages in plain-text only - no HTML at all. We
    NJ> also very strongly prefer that answers come below the text they refer to;
    NJ> that way the archives make sense. Posting your answers at the top of the
    NJ> message is called top-posting and is considered quite rude. As I myself am
    NJ> rather rude, having belched four times while composing this message, I
    NJ> answer you anyway.

    Well, you got me here. Seems I was born for non-HTML lists :) However,
    for regular mail I don't like scrolling like hell to read the
    important stuff. Just forgot to change it. Apologies!

    NJ> Your DNS is probably fine. Don't accept and bounce mail you don't want.
    NJ> % host -t mx cyberinbox.com
    NJ> cyberinbox.com mail is handled by 0 dev.null.

    NJ> cyberinbox.com apparently doesn't care to receive the bounce you are trying
    NJ> to send them. You can reject mail from senders with bogus MX records using
    NJ> check_sender_mx_access and an appropriate map. Read the docs and list
    NJ> archives for hints on how to do this.

    OK, thanks again. I have quite a long list about the sender and
    recipient restrictions, I will add that too.

    P.S. Since your reply-to is your own address, I have tried to mail to
    it by mistake. I hope I have done noting in the past to get the
    following:

    450 <>: Sender address rejected: Nothing good ever
    comes from this TLD sender.pcre (in reply to RCPT TO command))

    Best regards,
    Bobby


  • Next message: Robin Lynn Frank: "Re: Blocking mail from=<>"





    Hosted Email Solutions

    Invaluement Anti-Spam DNSBLs



    Powered By FreeBSD   Powered By FreeBSD