Re[3]: Blocking mail from=<>

From: Bobby (no email)
Date: Tue Mar 01 2005 - 14:22:27 EST

  • Next message: Noel Jones: "Re[3]: Blocking mail from=<>"

    Hello Noel,

    yep, sorry for that, it seems i missed some info.
    I fought this problem about two years ago, but I did not dig in to it then. It appears I am digging with wrong examples now :)

    rob0:

    Basically, I don't like using html in emails at all.
    Could you please be more specific about the broken MUA, because it
    seems fine to me and I think this would validate as HTML 4.01.

    About the DNS, please comment on this:

    ;; QUESTION SECTION:
    ;cyberinbox.com. IN MX

    ;; ANSWER SECTION:
    cyberinbox.com. 3600 IN MX 0 dev.null.

    ;; Query time: 171 msec
    ;; SERVER: 67.18.235.194#53(ns1.adrress.com)
    ;; WHEN: Tue Mar 1 21:20:25 2005
    ;; MSG SIZE rcvd: 56

    Best regards,
    Bobby
    Alimex

    Tuesday, March 1, 2005, 8:50:05 PM, you wrote:

    NJ> At 12:31 PM 3/1/2005, Bobby wrote:

    >>Dear All,
    >>
    >>
    >>thanks to all of you for your answers. Well, the problem is serious, and
    >>it is a problem. I say that, because it is spam again, using the RFC.
    >>
    >>
    >>So, let's say we do not want to stop mail from <> to our own users. That
    >>will cause a large amount of viruses and other spam reaching them.

    NJ> You can always reject or discard viruses and spam according to local
    NJ> policy, no matter what the sender address. But don't reject mail just
    NJ> because it uses the null sender address, that would be very wrong. The
    NJ> null sender address is not a fool-proof indicator of spam.

    >>But, there is also another problem - relaying. I am sure there is a way to
    >>stop it. And I am also sure you can help about that. Maybe this could be
    >>the first step of making just a little better configuration :)
    >>
    >>
    >>Here is an example of a relay-abusing mail from <>:
    >>

    NJ> more comments below...

    >>postfix/qmgr[777]: 1BA0874C2BB: from=<>, size=6707, nrcpt=1 (queue active)
    >>
    >>postfix/smtp[16307]: warning: no MX host for cyberinbox.com has a valid A
    >>record
    >>
    >>postfix/smtp[16307]: 1BA0874C2BB: to=<>,
    >>relay=none, delay=0, status=bounced ([dev.null]: Name or service not known)
    >>
    >>postfix/qmgr[777]: 1BA0874C2BB: removed
    >>
    >>
    >>Well:
    >>
    >>;; QUESTION SECTION:
    >>
    >>;cyberinbox.com. IN MX
    >>
    >>
    >>;; ANSWER SECTION:
    >>
    >>cyberinbox.com. 928 IN MX 0 dev.null.
    >>
    >>
    >>;; AUTHORITY SECTION:
    >>
    >>cyberinbox.com. 170117 IN NS ns2.adrress.com.
    >>
    >>cyberinbox.com. 170117 IN NS ns1.adrress.com.

    NJ> You have accepted mail and then later bounced it. YOU are generating the
    NJ> <> sender address. Either you accepted mail for an invalid user or you
    NJ> have a content filter (or downstream mail server) that is rejecting the mail.
    NJ> Don't do that. Once you accept a spam mail, you must either tag+deliver
    NJ> or discard. Sending a bounce is not an acceptable option any more.

    >>postfix/qmgr[777]: 6DF1674C2BE: from=<>, size=4048, nrcpt=1 (queue active)
    >>
    >>postfix/smtp[16322]: connect to mail.cgocable.com[24.226.1.11]: Connection
    >>timed out (port 25)
    >>
    >>postfix/smtp[16322]: 6DF1674C2BE: to=<>,
    >>relay=none, delay=220013, status=deferred (connect to
    >>mail.cgocable.com[24.226.1.11]: Connection timed out)
    >>

    NJ> Same thing with this one. YOU are sending a bounce.

    >>And just for today I have 148 mails with from=<>. I am sure these are not
    >>bounces :)
    >>
    >>So, how about that?! Well, it does produce a lot of garbage and relays
    >>spam to some MTA on the net.
    >>
    >>I am quite sure my server won't get listed as an open relay for that. But
    >>at least I don't want to fill up my bandwidth with this garbage.
    >>
    >>All mail to unknown recepients in my domain gets rejected. Let us reject
    >>mail from <> to other users also.

    NJ> Are you sure you're rejecting mail to unknown users? are you sure you
    NJ> don't have a content filter or downstream mail server rejecting mail you
    NJ> have already accepted? I think you should check again.
    NJ> Check your logs for where these bounces are originating.


  • Next message: Noel Jones: "Re[3]: Blocking mail from=<>"





    Hosted Email Solutions

    Invaluement Anti-Spam DNSBLs



    Powered By FreeBSD   Powered By FreeBSD