Re[2]: Blocking mail from=<>

From: Bobby (no email)
Date: Tue Mar 01 2005 - 13:31:57 EST

  • Next message: Jason Long: "Re: Looking up local adresses via NDS?"

    Dear All,


    thanks to all of you for your answers. Well, the problem is serious, and it is a problem. I say that, because it is spam again, using the RFC.


    So, let's say we do not want to stop mail from <> to our own users. That will cause a large amount of viruses and other spam reaching them.

    But, there is also another problem - relaying. I am sure there is a way to stop it. And I am also sure you can help about that. Maybe this could be the first step of making just a little better configuration :)


    Here is an example of a relay-abusing mail from <>:


    postfix/qmgr[777]: 1BA0874C2BB: from=<>, size=6707, nrcpt=1 (queue active)

    postfix/smtp[16307]: warning: no MX host for cyberinbox.com has a valid A record

    postfix/smtp[16307]: 1BA0874C2BB: to=<>, relay=none, delay=0, status=bounced ([dev.null]: Name or service not known)

    postfix/qmgr[777]: 1BA0874C2BB: removed


    Well:

    ;; QUESTION SECTION:

    ;cyberinbox.com.                        IN      MX


    ;; ANSWER SECTION:

    cyberinbox.com.         928     IN      MX      0 dev.null.


    ;; AUTHORITY SECTION:

    cyberinbox.com.         170117  IN      NS      ns2.adrress.com.

    cyberinbox.com.         170117  IN      NS      ns1.adrress.com.



    postfix/qmgr[777]: 6DF1674C2BE: from=<>, size=4048, nrcpt=1 (queue active)

    postfix/smtp[16322]: connect to mail.cgocable.com[24.226.1.11]: Connection timed out (port 25)

    postfix/smtp[16322]: 6DF1674C2BE: to=<>, relay=none, delay=220013, status=deferred (connect to mail.cgocable.com[24.226.1.11]: Connection timed out)



    And just for today I have 148 mails with from=<>. I am sure these are not bounces :)

    So, how about that?! Well, it does produce a lot of garbage and relays spam to some MTA on the net.

    I am quite sure my server won't get listed as an open relay for that. But at least I don't want to fill up my bandwidth with this garbage.

    All mail to unknown recepients in my domain gets rejected. Let us reject mail from <> to other users also.


    Hope that you can help!



    Best regards,

    Bobby

    Alimex


    Sunday, February 27, 2005, 3:06:00 AM, you wrote:


    RLF> Are you acquainted with the listing policy of the RHSBl at 

    RLF> dsn.rfc-ignorant.org?


    RLF> http://www.rfc-ignorant.org/policy-dsn.php


    RLF> Consider reading it.  You may find yourself in an area where RFC and

    RLF> reality clash.  BTW, do you have an example of one of these null-sender

    RLF> emails and is it addressed to a valid user?


    RLF> Bobby wrote:

    >> Dear All        ,

    >> 

    >> 

    >> using alias checking and restrictions on the sender and recepient I

    >> managed to put together a very nice configuration of postfix.

    >> 

    >> A lot of spam is stopped at my MX.

    >> 

    >> 

    >> However I still can not stop mail with missing sender address, where the

    >> field from=<>.

    >> 

    >> 

    >> On Feb 16th Stefan Schleifer wrote about a misconfiguration on his 

    >> machine that actually stopped such mail.

    >> 

    >> 

    >> said: 554 <>: Sender address rejected: Access denied (in reply to RCPT

    >> TO command)

    >> 

    >> 

    >> 

    >> Could anyone help me with configuration tips to remedy this?!

    >> 

    >> 

    >> Thank you!

    >> 

    >> 

    >> Best regards,

    >> 

    >> Bobby

    >> 

    >> Alimex

    >> 

    >>  <mailto:>

    >> 

    >> 






    Hosted Email Solutions

    Invaluement Anti-Spam DNSBLs



    Powered By FreeBSD   Powered By FreeBSD