Re: Another Greylisting Question.

From: Dave Lists (no email)
Date: Wed Sep 01 2004 - 05:26:59 EDT


Looking at it again, they are not making multiple connection attempts:

Sep 1 10:24:28 new-willow postfix/smtpd[25130]: E751F2ABDE: reject:
RCPT from chello080108165149.2.12.vie.surfer.at[80.108.165.149]: 554
Service unavailable; Client host [80.108.165.149] blocked using
sbl-xbl.spamhaus.org;
http://www.spamhaus.org/query/bl?ip=80.108.165.149;
from=<> to=<> proto=SMTP
helo=<mailorderselectronics.com>
Sep 1 10:24:32 new-willow postfix/smtpd[25130]: E751F2ABDE: reject:
RCPT from chello080108165149.2.12.vie.surfer.at[80.108.165.149]: 554
Service unavailable; Client host [80.108.165.149] blocked using
sbl-xbl.spamhaus.org;
http://www.spamhaus.org/query/bl?ip=80.108.165.149;
from=<> to=<> proto=SMTP
helo=<mailorderselectronics.com>
Sep 1 10:24:33 new-willow postfix/smtpd[25130]: E751F2ABDE: reject:
RCPT from chello080108165149.2.12.vie.surfer.at[80.108.165.149]: 554
Service unavailable; Client host [80.108.165.149] blocked using
sbl-xbl.spamhaus.org;
http://www.spamhaus.org/query/bl?ip=80.108.165.149;
from=<> to=<> proto=SMTP
helo=<mailorderselectronics.com>
Sep 1 10:24:41 new-willow postfix/smtpd[25130]: lost connection after
RCPT from chello080108165149.2.12.vie.surfer.at[80.108.165.149]

I'm not sure what they are up to :-)

Dave.

Dave Lists wrote:

> I have seen spammers retry the same message with the same from and to,
> 3 times in 30secs.
> Is this an attempt to get around greylisting?
> Does greylisting have a time delay so only multiple attempts over a
> certain time period will result in a removal from the greylist?
>
> Dave.
>
>
>








Hosted Email Solutions

Invaluement Anti-Spam DNSBLs



Powered By FreeBSD   Powered By FreeBSD