Re: [ot] hosts that ignore mx records

From: Wietse Venema (no email)
Date: Fri Nov 01 2002 - 09:08:07 EST


Don't worry about it. There are lots of organizations that
either have no A record for the domain, or where the domain's
A record does not point to a machine that can receive mail.

        Wietse

Marc Owen:
>
> Hello,
>
> First of all, this is not really a postfix-specific question, sorry.
>
> I notice some hosts connect to the hosts which carry A-records for the
> domain to relay mail, ignoring mx records.
>
> For instance:
>
> example.com. IN A 1.2.3.4
> example.com. IN A 1.2.3.5
>
> www.example.com. IN A 1.2.3.4
> www.example.com. IN A 1.2.3.5
>
> example.com. IN MX 100 mx2.example.com.
> example.com. IN MX 100 mx1.example.com.
>
> Some hosts try to connect to the A records of the domain (the bare
> domain name resolves to webserver ips) instead of using the mx records,
> and mail is refused because those (web)servers don't accept mail for the
> domain. They are webservers, not mailservers.
>
> I think most of the refused email is spam anyway, but I fear some
> legitimate mail gets lost too... most notably from webmail clients.
>
> One solution would be to relay mail to the real mailservers (dirty).
> Another is just ignoring these hosts (doesn't happen often anyway) and
> possibly loosing email (which I do now). I could try to contact the admins
> of those hosts, but I'm not very hopeful... I especially want to make
> sure that what I do is right, to cover my back when someone complains
> about lost email. So...
>
> What is the Right Thing to do here?
>
> (I don't really expect one opinion ;) ).
>
> -
> To unsubscribe, send mail to with content
> (not subject): unsubscribe postfix-users
>
>

-
To unsubscribe, send mail to with content
(not subject): unsubscribe postfix-users








Hosted Email Solutions

Invaluement Anti-Spam DNSBLs



Powered By FreeBSD   Powered By FreeBSD