From: Adam Levin (no email)
Date: Wed May 01 2002 - 12:03:48 EDT
On Wed, 1 May 2002, Tom Diehl wrote:
> I use it here and 99% of the mail that bounces because of it is spam.
> How do your suits know they are not getting errors from anyone else?
Supposedly, our guy spoke to their guy who spoke to their technical guy.
Their technical guy claims that "no other mail from them has been
rejected". I doubt that, but our guy doesn't trust me, I guess.
> I suspect that they just want their mail and do not care about the
> impact it has on other people or things.
Naturally.
> Who is the large provider. I have not had any problems accepting mail from
> "a large provider" Even AOL and MSN for all of their problems use fqdn
> in the HELO on THEIR servers. Are you sure that the server in question is
> really a server owned by the large provider and not run by some spammer
> trying to look like said large provider?
I know that the three messages mentioned in my previous mail were
legitimate mail, because the senders were known senders to us (one was an
employee's wife, one a business partner, and one a friend). I wouldn't be
surprised if Comcast has misconfigured mail servers, though -- the
switchover from @home has been a nightmare for them as well as their
customers (like me -- at home, not at work).
-Adam
Adam Levin, Senior Unix Systems Administrator | http://www.audible.com/
Audible, Inc.
Wayne, NJ, 07470 It's a lot like being attacked by wet tissue.
973-837-2797
-
To unsubscribe, send mail to with content
(not subject): unsubscribe postfix-users
|
|
|