Re: blocking SPAM

From: Ronald F. Guilmette (no email)
Date: Thu Nov 01 2001 - 02:53:14 EST


In message <86CD2413CA6FB44CB4345736570CCA93410FEE at rltd-mail dot remingtonmicroshar
e.com>, you wrote:

>I just got maps_rbl_domains working. I just followed some howtos out there.
>Anyways, I tried sending an email from my office mail and yahoo to my mail
>server at home and this is what I got.
>
>--------------snippet starts----------
>Oct 31 22:43:06 cb446396-a postfix/smtpd[559]: connect from
>web12805.mail.yahoo.com[216.136.174.40]
>Oct 31 22:43:06 cb446396-a postfix/smtpd[559]: 9361246:
>client=web12805.mail.yahoo.com[216.136.174.40]
>Oct 31 22:43:07 cb446396-a postfix/smtpd[559]: reject: RCPT from
>web12805.mail.yahoo.com[216.136.174.40]: 554 Service unavailable;
>[216.136.174.40] blocked using outputs.orbs.org; from=<>
                  ^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^

Um... ORBS is dead, and has been, for a very long time now.

Some of the sites that formerly provided secondard DNS for it, including
me/mine, got fed up with so many jerks continuing to hammer away at
their DNS servers with usless queries against the now defunct orbs.org
zone that they started always returning POSITIVE responses to all of these
DNS queries in order to try to force local mail administrators (at last)
to stop making any more references to orbs.org in their mail server
configurations.

>Here is my config in main.cf:
>
>maps_rbl_domains = blackholes.mail-abuse.org, dialups.mail-abuse.org,
>relays.mail-abuse.org, bl.spamcop.net, inputs.orbz.org, outputs.orbs.org,
                                                         -----------------
>relays.ordb.org, or.orbl.org

Remove the underlined part, and things should be better.
-
To unsubscribe, send mail to with content
(not subject): unsubscribe postfix-users








Hosted Email Solutions

Invaluement Anti-Spam DNSBLs



Powered By FreeBSD   Powered By FreeBSD