RE: [Fwd: Important ICANN Notice Regarding Your Domain Name(s)]

From: Frank Bulk (no email)
Date: Fri Oct 06 2006 - 00:37:19 EDT

  • Next message: David Freedman: "Operational contact at SIXAPART / Livejournal"

    GoDaddy's abuse desk is not so easy to work with...I have had two different
    times that a whole /24 was blocked even though parts of the address space
    were split between different providers (and customers), but GoDaddy would
    hardly relent. Took over a week to get that resolved.

    Frank

    -----Original Message-----
    From: [mailto:] On Behalf Of
    Steve Sobol
    Sent: Thursday, October 05, 2006 10:05 AM
    To: Alexander Harrowell
    Cc: Joe Abley; Chris Stone;
    Subject: Re: [Fwd: Important ICANN Notice Regarding Your Domain Name(s)]

    On Thu, 5 Oct 2006, Alexander Harrowell wrote:

    > Are you sure it's genuine? Those WWD domains (especially
    > secureserver.net) account for a large fraction of the spam and
    > phishing attempts I receive.

    SecureServer.net is GoDaddy.

    If you have domains hosted at GoDaddy or a reseller, your customer
    notifications come from that domain.

    They also do web and email hosting, which is probably why you're seeing
    the abusive behavior, but they do have a working abuse desk, so if you see
    stuff from there, definitely report it.

    -- 
    Steve Sobol, Professional Geek ** Java/VB/VC/PHP/Perl ** Linux/*BSD/Windows
    Apple Valley, California     PGP:0xE3AE35ED
    It's all fun and games until someone starts a bonfire in the living room.
    

  • Next message: David Freedman: "Operational contact at SIXAPART / Livejournal"





    Hosted Email Solutions

    Invaluement Anti-Spam DNSBLs



    Powered By FreeBSD   Powered By FreeBSD