Re: [Fwd: Important ICANN Notice Regarding Your Domain Name(s)]

From: Steve Sobol (no email)
Date: Thu Oct 05 2006 - 14:21:36 EDT

  • Next message: Jeremy Chadwick: "Anyone from Comcast or AT&T Worldnet on list?"

    On Thu, 5 Oct 2006, Steve Sobol wrote:

    > On Thu, 5 Oct 2006, Alexander Harrowell wrote:
    >
    > > Are you sure it's genuine? Those WWD domains (especially
    > > secureserver.net) account for a large fraction of the spam and
    > > phishing attempts I receive.
    >
    > SecureServer.net is GoDaddy.
    >
    > If you have domains hosted at GoDaddy or a reseller, your customer
    > notifications come from that domain.

    Following up to myself: I understand that you can still get phishes
    purporting to be from them. But if you can verify that the message came
    from secureserver, don't write it off as a phish without doing some
    further checking.

    -- 
    Steve Sobol, Professional Geek ** Java/VB/VC/PHP/Perl ** Linux/*BSD/Windows
    Apple Valley, California     PGP:0xE3AE35ED
    It's all fun and games until someone starts a bonfire in the living room.
    

  • Next message: Jeremy Chadwick: "Anyone from Comcast or AT&T Worldnet on list?"





    Hosted Email Solutions

    Invaluement Anti-Spam DNSBLs



    Powered By FreeBSD   Powered By FreeBSD