Re: [Fwd: Important ICANN Notice Regarding Your Domain Name(s)]

From: Alexander Harrowell (no email)
Date: Thu Oct 05 2006 - 08:22:01 EDT

  • Next message: Steve Sobol: "Re: [Fwd: Important ICANN Notice Regarding Your Domain Name(s)]"

    Are you sure it's genuine? Those WWD domains (especially
    secureserver.net) account for a large fraction of the spam and
    phishing attempts I receive.

    On 10/5/06, Joe Abley <> wrote:
    >
    >
    > On 4-Oct-2006, at 19:04, Steve Sobol wrote:
    >
    > > ICANN *does* have a requirement for accurate information in WHOIS and
    > > while I don't know how strongly the requirement is enforced, they
    > > *can*
    > > pull your domain registration if you don't have accurate information.
    >
    > While I'm not familiar with the precise enforcement mechanisms or
    > policy, I do know of one ISP who had the delegation for their (.com)
    > domain name unexpectedly pulled by the registry in response to a
    > complaint about inaccurate whois information directed at ICANN.
    >
    > It was painful for the ISP, especially since it happened during the
    > time that Verisign's sitefinder was live, which caused e-mail to ISP
    > customers to be hard bounced from Verisign and people looking for
    > their web page to be presented with a "this domain is not registered"
    > page instead of a browser error.
    >
    > It's well worth avoiding, even without the additional sitefinder
    > complications :-)
    >
    >
    > Joe
    >


  • Next message: Steve Sobol: "Re: [Fwd: Important ICANN Notice Regarding Your Domain Name(s)]"





    Hosted Email Solutions

    Invaluement Anti-Spam DNSBLs



    Powered By FreeBSD   Powered By FreeBSD