Re: AOL Mail Problem

From: Allen Parker (no email)
Date: Thu Jul 27 2006 - 11:25:53 EDT

  • Next message: Laurence F. Sheldon, Jr.: "Re: AOL Mail Problem"

    On 7/27/06, Suresh Ramasubramanian <> wrote:
    >
    > On 7/27/06, Tom Quilling <> wrote:
    > > so the suspicion is, that AOL is blocking whole ranges..
    > > may be a postmaster of them is on this list....
    >
    > You'll find them pretty easy to reach - contact information, phone #,
    > email addresses etc on their postmaster site.
    >
    > One added extra that we have (not aol, as far as I have seen) is a
    > spamblock query page .. go to
    > http://spamblock.outblaze.com/spamchk.html and query your IPs there,
    > the ones that AOL is blocking. See what you get.

    I have to add my 2/100ths of a monetary unit, after having dealt with
    aol repeatedly. Attempting to return emails forwarded from copyright@*
    to my gmail account, with the complaintant email originating at aol
    resulted in 554. At this point, despite having aol *unblock* my gmail
    account from sending to *@aol.com from here with reply-to/from
    copyright@* (after 20 hours of my time wasted, i might add... ~2 hrs
    per call x 5 calls) I managed to get a whitelist on the domains in
    question, which... unless you classify phpbb notifications as "spam"
    have never been even remotely associated with spamming.

    Now.. to prevent bs like this from happening in the future... this
    email address () is the only email address
    associated with me that doesn't reject *@aol.com with 550 with a link
    to a page explaining that the user needs to get a better isp. I really
    wish more people would stand up to aol and explain to them that their
    spam filtering stuff is ineffective as well as annoying.


  • Next message: Laurence F. Sheldon, Jr.: "Re: AOL Mail Problem"





    Hosted Email Solutions

    Invaluement Anti-Spam DNSBLs



    Powered By FreeBSD   Powered By FreeBSD